Our History

King Abdulaziz University carries the name of the establisher of Saudi Arabia- God bless him. This university was established in 1387 H / 1967 G as a national university aiming at spreading higher education in the western area of Saudi Arabia. This dream has come true through the continuous efforts of the loyal citizens of this country. The members of the initiating committee had the chance to meet King Faisal Bin Abdulaziz –God bless him- and His Majesty showed all support for this idea. The establishing committee was formed headed by King Faisal- God bless him and his highness the Minister if Education at that time Sheikh Hasan Bin Abdullah Al Al- Sheikh.

The university started its first year in (1388h- 1968g) by inaugurating the preparation study program with a few number of students( 68 male students and 30 female students,) and directly the year after, the university inaugurated its first college ( the College of Economics and Management,) then in the following year the college of Arts and Human Sciences was established.

After the honored resolution of the Council of Ministers was issued in (1394h - 1974g) by including the university in the government, the national university was changed into a government university and another decision was issued at the same time by including the College of Shareah and the College of Higher Education that were already established in 1369h-1949g in Mekka in King Abdulaziz University. These two colleges followed Omm AL-Qora University after it was established.

The adoption of the government to this young university and the continuous support was of great effect on changing King Abdulaziz University to a modern university with a number of students that now amounts to 82152 male and female students. The university also occupies a distinguished place among higher education institutions in the Kingdom.

King Abdulaziz University includes two separate campuses according to Islamic regulations one for males and another for females. Each of these campuses is provided with all cultural, recreational and athletic facilities, in addition to a big library equipped the most up to date technology to serve students and the teaching staff. Within four decades, the university becomes one of the outstanding higher education institutions on the local and international level. This university offers educational programs for preparing the graduates to do jobs that cope with the changing needs of the community.

After being established , the university included branches for other universities like Teeba University in Al-Madina Al-Monawarah which became an independent university in ( 1424h - 2003g) , the branch of Tabouk University and Jasan University which were also became independent universities, The North Borders University and Araar and Rafha colleges.

The university witnessed much development in quality and quantity since it was established until it becomes one of the distinguished universities in terms of the number of students, the number of scientific and theoretical fields of study and the exclusiveness of certain specializations such as Seas Sciences, Geology, Nuclear Engineering, Medical Engineering , Meteorology and Aviation and Mineralization.

King Abdulaziz University is Considered a pioneer in offering higher education to the Saudi girl and the female and male sections were inaugurated in the same year.

The University not only has the regular students program but it also has the external program to make it easy for all students to get higher education. It also established the Deanship of Distant Teaching to cope with the development in learning and teaching technology.

The Minister of Higher Education presides over the University Council which includes in its membership HE the Director of the university, The Deputies of the university, the deans of colleges and the independent deanships. 

Send To Friend Print Page Error Page Add Page Link To Your Site
Last Update 7/18/2010 2:15:37 PM

الانتقال الى المحتوى الأساسي

جامعة الملك عبدالعزيز

تاريخنا

تحمل جامعة الملك عبد العزيز اسم مؤسس المملكة العربية السعودية الملك عبد العزيز , طيب الله ثراه , وكان تأسيس هذه الجامعة في عام 1387هـ / 1967م بصفتها جامعة أهلية , هدفها نشر التعليم العالي في المنطقة الغربية من المملكة العربية السعودية . وبجهود المخلصين من أبناء هذا الوطن تحول الحلم إلى حقيقة وخرجت الفكرة إلى حيز الوجود حيث حظي أعضاء اللجنة التحضيرية بمقابلة الملك فيصل بن عبد العزيز وقد أبدى رحمه الله كل الدعم والتأييد لفكرة المشروع , وشكلت اللجنة التأسيسية للجامعة برئاسة المغفور له الملك فيصل ومعالي وزير المعارف آنذاك الشيخ حسن بن عبد الله آل الشيخ .

بدأت الجامعة عامها الدراسي الأول في عام ( 1388هـ - 1968م ) بافتتاح برنامج الدراسة الإعدادية , بعدد قليل من الطلاب والطالبات ( 68 طلاب – 30 طالبات ) , وفي العام التالي مباشرة افتتحت أول كلية في الجامعة ( كلية الاقتصاد والإدارة ) وفي العام الذي يليه أنشئت كلية الآداب والعلوم الإنسانية

بعد أن صدر قرار مجلس الوزراء الموقر في عام ( 1391هـ ) بضم الجامعة إلى الدولة , وتحولت بذلك من جامعة أهلية إلى حكومية , صدر في الوقت نفسه قرار آخر بضم كليتي التربية والشريعة والدراسات العليا , واللتين كانتا قائمتين منذ عام ( 1369هـ - 1949م ) في مكة المكرمة إلى جامعة الملك عبد العزيز , ثم انفصلتا بعد ذلك لتضمى إلى جامعة أم القرى بعد إنشائها .

ولقد كان لتبني حكومة المملكة لهذه الجامعة الناشئة وما وفرته لها من دعم كبير , أثر واضح في تحولها إلى جامعة عصرية يبلغ عدد طلابها في الوقت الراهن ( 180212 ) طالب وطالبة , وتحتل مكانة متميزة بين مؤسسات التعليم العالي في المملكة .

تضم جامعة الملك عبد العزيز حرمين جامعيين منفصلين , طبقاً لما تقتضي به التعاليم الإسلامية , أحدهما للطلاب والآخر للطالبات , وكل منهما مزود بكافة المرافق الدراسية والثقافية والرياضية والترفيهية , ومكتبة كبيرة مجهزة بأحدث التقنيات المكتبية لخدمة الطلاب والطالبات وأعضاء هيئة التدريس ، وفي غضون أربعة عقود , وهي كل عمر الجامعة , أصبحت جامعة الملك العزيز من أبرز مؤسسات التعليم العالي على المستوى المحلي والإقليمي , حيث تقدم برامج تعليمية لإعداد الخريجين لممارسة المهن المختلفة تتماشى مع المتطلبات التعليمية المتجددة للمجتمع .

ضمت جامعة الملك عبد العزيز بعد إنشائها فروع لجامعات أخرى هي جامعة طيبة بالمدينة المنورة والتي انفصلت عنها عام ( 1424هـ ) وأصبحت جامعة مستقلة . وكذلك فرع جامعة تبوك وفرع جامعة جازان واللتان انفصلتا حالياً وصارتا جامعتين مستقلتين . وكذلك فرع جامعة الحدود الشمالية , كما تضم الجامعة فرعين لكليتي عرعر ورفحا .

قد شهدت الجامعة منذ إنشائها تطوراً ونمواً مضطرداً , كماً وكيفاً , حتى أصبحت من أبرز جامعات المملكة من حيث عدد الطلاب والطالبات , وتشعب وتعدد التخصصات النظرية والعلمية وتكاملها , وانفرادها ببعض الكليات والتخصصات عن بقية جامعات المملكة مثل : علوم البحار ، والأرصاد , وعلوم الأرض , والهندسة النووية , والطيران والتعدين , والهندسة الطبية .

تعد جامعة الملك عبد العزيز رائدة في تعليم الفتاة السعودية تعليماً عالياً فقد تم افتتاح قسم الطالبات في نفس العام الذي افتتح فيه قسم الطلاب

لم تقتصر الجامعة على منهج الدراسة بالانتظام بل أنشأت الدراسة عن طريق الانتساب , تيسيراً على أبناء الوطن , كما أنها لم تتوقف على الدراسة بالطرق التقليدية فقط , بل أنشأت عمادة التعليم عن بعد , لكي تواكب التطورات العلمية والتقنية والحضارية , وتسهيلاً على الراغبين من الطلاب والطالبات مواصلة مسيرتهم الدراسية في مجال التعليم العالي والسير قدماً نحو غد أفضل .

يرأس معالي وزير التعليم العالي مجلس الجامعة والذي يضم في عضويته مدير الجامعة , ووكلاء الجامعة , وعمداء الكليات والعمادات المستقلة

أرسل الصفحة لصديق إطبع هذه الصفحة أبلغ عن خطأ في الصفحة أضف رابط الصفحة لموقعك
آخر تحديث 5/25/2016 12:22:30 PM